26 City Colleges Students Named Semifinalists for Competitive Transfer Scholarship


The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation recently announced the semifinalists under consideration for its highly-competitive Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship—and the list is packed with soon-to-be graduates from City Colleges of Chicago.

In total, 26 students from our colleges have made the short-list for the award, which offers recipients up to $55,000 per year to attend a four-year college or university. The 26 CCC students named below make up the majority of the 32 semifinalists selected from the state of Illinois. The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation plans to announce the final scholarship recipients in May.

Please join us in congratulating, and wishing the best of luck, to the following students:

  • Shaz Akthar – Harold Washington College
  • Nancy Barrera – Harold Washington College
  • Sherry Chen – Harold Washington College
  • Justyce Harris – Harold Washington College
  • Zach Hebert – Harold Washington College
  • Marnee Ostoa – Harold Washington College
  • Mary Randall – Harold Washington College
  • Sam Roberts – Harold Washington College
  • Ashanti Thurman – Harold Washington College
  • Najwa Aleem – Harry S Truman College
  • Mary Colombo – Harry S Truman College
  • Ephi Getachew – Harry S Truman College
  • Michael Sansone – Harry S Truman College
  • Deynna Rey Tovar – Harry S Truman College
  • Emon Fowler – Kennedy-King College
  • Michael Nwaigbo – Kennedy-King College
  • Tatum Lauder Mulvany – Malcolm X College
  • Yamileth Moreno – Malcolm X College
  • Ayicia Murray – Malcolm X College
  • Kayla Savage – Malcolm X College
  • Cielo Torres – Malcolm X College
  • Trevin Cox – Wilbur Wright College
  • Yaryna Dyakiv – Wilbur Wright College
  • Feisal Hassan – Wilbur Wright College
  • kweku Assou joel Sika – Wilbur Wright College
  • Aaron Zabrinas – Wilbur Wright College

Last year, the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation’s list of semifinalists included 21 City Colleges students, and six of our students—the most CCC recipients to date—received the scholarship to fully fund their bachelor’s degree journeys.

To learn more about the Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship and this year’s semifinalists, please visit: https://www.jkcf.org/our-stories/2022-undergraduate-transfer-scholarship-semifinalists/